OK, I'll Go First - CZ 452 Trainer

Discussion in 'Rimfire, Pellet and Mouse Fart Guns' started by Jeff H, October 23, 2011.

1. Jeff H

Jeff H

Ohio
    I finally made up my mind to get a CZ. I have wanted one for years and have just trudged along with a 10-22 that I have been shooting for 33 or 34 years now. It has always been reasonably accurate and has pretty much always had a scope on it, but it never really handled like some of the centerfires I have "built to suit." My 10-22 has never been fired much for pleasure, being strictly a hunting and pest control arm.

So, with the CZ 452 on the way out and the new 455 on the way in, I grabbed a CZ 452 Trainer before they were gone. From what I can see, the 455 is every bit the rifle the 452 was but a little different. I would still buy one in a minute, but I didn't see the Trainer in the new lineup.

This thing is a joy to shoot. It handles well and is fantastic off-hand. The quality is very evident and it is very accurate - even with my cheap Federal bulk from WM. I will be trying some more costly target stuff, but I am glad it shoots reg'lar Joe stuff well. The iron sights are wonderful, even as I struggle these days with my eyesight not quite being what it used to. Couldn't figure out what happened to all my iron sights one day and it dawned on me - it ain't the sights, Bub' - it's YOU!! (me).

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I kind of thought the tales from Rimfire Central were a little too good to be true, but this thing really is a fantastic rifle. I wish I'd have bought one a long time ago. I can see doing a lot of just plain old recreational shooting with this one. I may put a scope on it, as that was the plan, but I like shooting it with the irons so much that I am not so sure now.

EDIT: Oh, and the "iron" sighs aren't really iron - they're machined STEEL!! Real steel! Not plastic, not aluminum, not stamped steel - but machined steel!

Last edited: October 23, 2011