I'm A Newbie and a Ruger Nut!

Discussion in 'Introductions and Greetings - New User Forum' started by gonfishn, March 1, 2015.

1. gonfishn

gonfishn

:clap: So anyway, I've always wanted a Ruger Mini Thirty Ranch rifle and I happened to be back home in Owatonna, MN last fall and low and behold, there's a Mini thirty in 7.62x39 at a very decent price. I looked closely at it and it appeared to have some rust on the S/S and one little teenie chip by the butt stock. Looked inside the barrel and it was somewhat gucky. Long story short, not only was I ignorant (actually too excited to pay attention) but the gun library dude was also taken aback when I mentioned all the defects hence the $550 purchase price (marked down). Got er home finally and my son, who is in the Army, started taking it apart to clean it up and it was then that he mentioned "hey, this thing's never been shot and that rust is packing grease and the barrel had it in as well. We looked up the serial number and its a 90's weapon, that'd never been shot, and if it was in the box it'd be a NIB (except for the chip of course).
    RUGERMINITHIRTY762X39.jpg